Monday, July 11, 2011

Free Learning Opportunities - Free Upcoming Webinars

The following are free webinars that will be available in the next few weeks.  Please double check the time of the live webinar when you register - you do need to pre-register.  Follow the web address listed under where to register and to locate more information for the event. We will try to keep you updated on all free webinars available.  You do not need to own Legacy Software to participate. Happy Learning!

Google Images and Beyond, by Maureen Taylor

When      Wednesday, Jul 20, 2011
Where     http://www.LegacyFamilyTree.com/webinars.asp
Description     Let Maureen’s photo research tips and techniques help you locate “missing” family photographs or locate previously unknown ones. This webinar will also feature information on photo rights/permissions and usage for print and the web. Plus a special segment on Picasa, Google’s image organizing software.

Newspapers for Genealogists with Tom Kemp - free
When     Wednesday, Aug 17, 2011
Where    http://www.LegacyFamilyTree.com/webinars.asp
Description   Learn about the genealogical value of newspapers with tips/techniques for finding family history details: engagements, marriages, births, obituaries, advertising, legal notices, military records and much more. Join librarian, lecturer, newspaper expert, and GenealogyBank.com's Thomas Jay Kemp for this one-hour webinar on U.S. newspaper research, including a demonstration of the historical newspapers, books, and documents available at GenealogyBank.com.

Facebook for Genealogists by Thomas MacEntee
When     Wednesday, Sep 14, 2011
Where    http://www.LegacyFamilyTree.com/webinars.asp
Description    Afraid to make the jump into Facebook? Wondering what all the fuss is about or how Facebook can work to the genealogist's advantage? Come along for a journey through this exciting social media application. If you've decided to set up a Facebook account not only to stay in touch with family but to expand your genealogy experience, you will learn the basics of the program including how to protect your privacy, how to make friends on Facebook, and how to ensure a safe and enjoyable experience. Register (free) at www.LegacyFamilyTree.com/webinars.asp. Time zones: 2PM Eastern U.S., 1PM Central, 12PM Mountain, 11AM Pacific, 6PM GMT.

2 comments:

  1. A good resource for beginners is a webinar that aired on July 6 called "Leveraging the Power of "We": a Watershed Event in Discovering Where to Find Your Ancestors (Research Wiki, Research Courses, and FamilySearch Forums)". This is in the Legacy Family Tree webinar archives at http://legacyfamilytree.com/Webinars.asp and can be viewed for free. This webinar teaches you about the learning tools available to everyone, free, at FamilySearch.org. I highly recommend watching this webinar if you haven't used these tools before.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Thank you Sherri for the info, I hope everyone has a chance to view the webinar.

    ReplyDelete